Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1994 Gas, no electric??

Hello all,
    I'm an electrician on industrial, commercial, and residential. I can follow a schematic, which I finally found here. My nieghbor bought a 19994 gas cart, and it will not start. Nothing electrical seems to work. NO headlights either. I have trace out the circuitry before I found a shcematic here. I have power to goround at every switch it seems, but nothing is pulling in the solenoid. I even disconnected the solenoid coil wiring, and hotwired it straight to the battery. It still did not pull in. My buddy installed a new generator/starter as it was not working. He fired it up, went forwards and backwards around his property a few times, and when backing up, everything went dead. Nothing at all. I checked power at ignition. Good. turn switch on, goes through to other wiring. Any thoughts. Now that I have a schematic, I may be able to figure it out, but thought I'd throw this out for others who may be expereincing the same issues.

Doug B.

After reading my post, I think I'm too long winded and the popst was not clear.

Original problem was cart would not start. You turn the key on, depress the pedal, solenoid would click but not turn the engine. My buddy took it down to cart mechanic, and was told the starter/generator was no good. He installed a new one, and started it. He moved it forward and backward a few times, and when backing it up, it shut down. Nothing seems to have worked since. I simply checked power/switches from the key switch out following the power. I never was able to get a 12vdc reading at the solenoid. The micro switches all seemed to "transfer" power at the shifter position, and the throttle micro switch position. Hope that clears it up a bit. Thanks for looking, and even more so if someone responds.

I ohmed out the coil on the starter solenoid, I believe it was around 24.8 ohms.

Doug B

Comment