X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need cart mechanic in N.J.

I'm looking for a cart tech in N.J.
    I don't want to go to dealer because I know I will get "mugged"

I am having an issue with a newly purchased 2004 Club Car DS electric with IQ system

I installed 6 new 8v batteries(switch in "tow" position) and when switch is moved to "run" position cart buzzes as if it is in reverse. Key is off also. Cart doesn't move when accel pedal is depressed, but did get a spark from solenoid area when pedal was depressed. Resistor wire got very hot when it sparked.

Is solenoid fried? What happened?

Any and all advise is greatly appreciated.

I'm no mechanic by any stretch of the imagination so hiring a PRO is more logical to me.
    Attached Files
    Updated by Jedi; June 18, 2013, 11:15 AM.

I would buzz also if I looked that dirty (you need some orbit)

I have a feeling the batteries are installed backwards ???
    if so controller is bad.

Comment

That looks like salt water damage, not good. Does the rest of the electrics look that bad?
      Updated by Larry1950; June 18, 2013, 04:33 PM.

Comment

good call larry

Is this a NJ flood victim ????

Comment

Sure would explain why there was no charger and toasted batteries. If its salt water that ain't all of the damage. I sure would be talking to the guy that sold it.
          Updated by Larry1950; June 18, 2013, 04:39 PM.

Comment

Larry; Actually the cart is rather clean. It has been sitting unused for quite some time.
            No flood damage either.

Gaminde, I followed the schematic to the "t" as far as battery installation went.
            I was told that the spark might be attributed to the fact that there was no screw holding the wires on the positive side of the solenoid when I pressed accel pedal.

Another cart mechanic emailed me and said to start by troubleshooting the controller and replace the solenoid and resistor then clean up all of the corrosion around all of the electrical connections.