older pre 80's 36 volt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• older pre 80's 36 volt

I'm new to carts but have 50yrs in auto repair I was gifted this ez go cart It's been customized, home made lift and lack of maintenance The batts are older but full charge and passes the stress test. The cart runs maybe a block and looses power. I took a meter with and test the batteries they all still test at least 6 volts. Let the cart sit 10 min you can drive it again for a short distance. recheck the voltage and still ok. is the speed controller the #8 coiled copper wires or is there diff one?

What is the voltage of the whole battery pack? Fully charged, they should be 38.2. Get a VOM that reads at least 40 volts DC and check the whole pack. When they first come off the charger they will read a little higher. After a few hours, they should settle and hold at 38.2. It really sounds like you need new batteries. Even one weak one out of the pack can cause the problems you describe.
    Updated by pbsdaddy; May 21, 2012, 07:20 PM.

Comment

Thanks 37.6 was the reading I do more checking this week end The cart is at the lake

Comment

Even if a battery that shows 6 volts at rest doesn't mean it's good. U need to load test them and see what they do.
        This number is after a full charge and the batteries have sat for at least 6 hrs before checking them.

sigpic
        I'm here to help!
        There is no substitute for Voltage!

Comment