slow to go & barely backs up

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• slow to go & barely backs up

I've got a 2000 48v DS that has been getting slower and slower and reverse is worse, even when fully charged. I've tried all new batteries and keeping up with battery maintenance, but it hasn't helped at all. I had a local shop take a look at it and they just want to sell me a new cart. Is there anything that I can test to diagnose if there is a problem with the motor or something else that could be wrong? I've got lots of electrical and car experience, but I don't know much about golf carts.

First welcome to the board.

Are you sure the charger is fully charging the pack? You need to check this before tearing into it. If the charger isn't reading the pack voltage correctley it want charge them fully. Make sure the charger stays on and not cutting off 5 minutes after you walk off. Then when you come back you think it's fully charged, do you have a voltmeter? Check the voltage while it's charging and see what the charger is doing. 48 volt pack should be close to 55 volts when in full charge mode. Once they charge for several hrs it should taper down to around 50 volts.
    Once you know you have a good charge let it sit for about 8 hrs and check it then. The pack should read 50.93 are better.
    sigpic
    I'm here to help!
    There is no substitute for Voltage!

Comment

Im with andy on this one you have to check the battery voltages and all connections first and post each battery and total pack voltage. Jack it up and do the same when running it slowly this would be an under load test.

once you do this, you can move on to other testing!

Comment

+1 on that, we had 2 that wouldn't make a full connection, one turned out the battery series wasnt wired correctly

Comment