brake lights and 12v pwer outlet

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• brake lights and 12v pwer outlet

I want to add a LED brake lite (on the back of my roof) and a 12v pwer outlet on the dash for a portable search light to my 2008 Precedent (4 12v batteries >. 48 volts). The cart came with an aftermarket Precedent head lite/tail light kit which is fine. But I would like to have the brake like separate from the tail lites. The pwr outlet should be hot all the time (no key needed) and the brake lite should only operate with the key on. I am a shade tree mechanic but I have no experience with electric vehicles or 48 volts. Clearly somewhere my cart has a 12 volt circuit. The only place I can find 12v is at the headlight connection with its switch on....which would probably work if I had the headlites on when I wanted the pwr outlet. But that ain't what I wish!!!
    Obviously I need a micro brake lite switch (wired always off until the pedal movement turns it on). Don't know where to find such a thing and I guess I will need to fabricate a bracket somewhere in the pedal box. Be that as it may, first I have to solve how to get current to brake lite with the key on and pwr on the outlet with no key.

I apologize, this is way too long and complecated. Perhaps I should just find some cart operation and pay to have it done. But that ain't much fun for a retired tinkerer!!! Don't let me tie up the forum....if needed just tell me to hush! oldbill

This should be pretty simple oldbill.
    Most headlights operate without the key on, do you have to have the key on to use your headlights?
    My guess is that unless you have a 48v to 12v converter on the cart the accessories will be wired to one of the 12v batteries.
    Check your battery pack for some telltale small wires that might be the poser supply for your headlights.
    Do you have brake lights now?
    Don't worry about tying up the forum, we live for stuff like this.